19 Educators Named As Finalists for the Trinity Prize | Trinity University

Coronavirus Updates: The latest information on the global pandemic and campus operations.  COVID-19 Website

Apply Now Visit Trinity

You are here

19 Educators Named As Finalists for the Trinity Prize

Tuesday, March 12, 2019
crystal apple with text 2018-19 finalists trinity prize for excellence in teaching

Local teachers chosen as distinguished educators by Trinity’s Department of Education

by Danyal Tahseen '19

A total of 19 exceptional teachers in the San Antonio area have been chosen as distinguished educators and finalists for the 2018-19 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes outstanding performance in public education.

The distinguished educators will be honored and the two recipients of the award will be announced on Friday, March 22, in the Stieren Theater on Trinity’s campus at the Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching ceremony, sponsored by the Whataburger. Mandy Manning will give the Whataburger Foundation Lecture at 4:30 p.m. The 2018 National Teacher of the Year, Manning is an English teacher at Joel E. Ferris High School in Spokane, Wash., where she works with newly arrived refugee and immigrant students.

New this year from Whataburger, one of the 19 finalists will receive the What-A-Teacher award at their home campus on Friday, April 5.

The distinguished educators were nominated by area school districts for their commitment and passion to education. Among the criteria for inclusion on the list is outstanding classroom performance, leadership in the school and school district, leadership in the education profession, and outstanding community service.

Alamo Heights Independent School District

Erika Guerrero  

CTE/special education teacher

Alamo Heights High School

Boerne Independent School District

Wendy Zamzow

AP physics teacher

Boerne-Samuel V. Champion High School

Comal Independent School District

Amber Galvan

5th grade reading/social studies/science teacher

Specht Elementary School

East Central Independent School District

Timothy McMeans

Art teacher

East Central High School

Edgewood Independent School District

Evangelina Perez

Pre-K 3 and 4 dual language teacher

Loma Park Elementary School

Ft. Sam Houston Independent School District

Katie Michna

Library media specialist

Robert G. Cole Middle/High School

Harlandale Independent School District

Olivia Robinson

7th grade ELA teacher

Armando Leal Jr. Middle School

Judson Independent School District

David Dodge

8th grade math teacher

Kitty Hawk Middle School

Lackland Independent School District

Mary Sims

ELAR teacher and STEM-based elective

Virginia Allred Stacey Jr./Sr. High School

North East Independent School District

Brynn Luikens

4th grade ELA teacher

Stahl Elementary School

Northside Independent School District

Priscilla Prather

Family & consumer sciences teacher

Dr. John Folks Middle School

Randolph Independent School District

Todd Olivera

Health science/athletic trainer

Randolph High School

San Antonio Independent School District

Andrea Greimel

Bilingual early childhood teacher

Carvajal Early Childhood Center

Somerset Independent School District

Jesus Gutierrez

3rd grade math and science teacher

Somerset Elementary School

South San Independent School District

Michael Tudyk

Music teacher

Five Palms Elementary

Southside Independent School District

Cheryl Kindred

Art teacher

Heritage Elementary

Southwest Independent School District

Michael Sandoval

Pre-AP world geography and AP human geography teacher

Southwest High School

Uvalde Independent School District

Irma Garcia

3rd grade, ELAR, social studies teacher

Robb Elementary School

Winston School of San Antonio

Rebecca Summers

Lower school teacher

Winston School San Antonio

Since 1982, Trinity University, through its Department of Education, has recognized and honored teaching as a profession and those outstanding persons who distinguish themselves in the profession. A panel of San Antonio business and community leaders will select the winners. All finalists receive a crystal apple, a cash award, and a proclamation from the City of San Antonio, signed by Mayor Ron Nirenberg ’99.

For more information, contact Trinity’s Department of Education at 210-999-7501.