Trinity Prize Recipients Named for 2017 | Trinity University

Coronavirus Updates: The latest information on the global pandemic and campus operations.  COVID-19 Website

Apply Now Visit Trinity

You are here

Trinity Prize Recipients Named for 2017

Friday, April 7, 2017
Two winning students showing their award

Gloria Galvan, left, with Trinity's Sheryl Tynes and Ali Goljahmofrad receive the Trinity Prize.

Educators of high school math and 5th grade receive Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching  

by Susie P. Gonzalez

A high school quantitative reasoning teacher and a bilingual 5th grade teacher were named winners of the 2017 Trinity Prize for Excellence in Teaching during a spirited ceremony Friday, April 7, on the Trinity University campus. The Prize honors motivated and dedicated educators in the San Antonio region.  

This year’s Trinity Prize recipients are Ali Goljahmofrad, who teaches advanced quantitative reasoning at Roosevelt High School in the North East Independent School District, and Gloria Galvan, a 5th grade bilingual teacher at Price Elementary School in the South San Antonio Independent School District.

The greater San Antonio area’s oldest and most prestigious teaching award, the Trinity Prize was launched in 1982 to honor public school teachers who distinguish their teaching practice through outstanding classroom performance, leadership in the school and school district, contributions to the education profession, and stellar community service.

As a person who loves numbers, Goljahmofrad had a career in accounting until he realized he wanted to make a difference in education and athletics. Initially an algebra teacher, he switched to advanced quantitative reasoning for the real-world connections it presents in a learning environment and because he can anticipate where students might stumble and need help. He also coaches the girls’ basketball and boys’ soccer teams, writes a blog about teaching, and is a motivational speaker. His motto is “Every Student, Every Day.” He holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Idaho State University and is pursuing a master’s degree in educational administration at Lamar University.

Galvan is committed to preparing her students to be lifelong learners who are engaged and motivated. She does this on a daily basis by integrating technology and research-based programs and strategies into her classroom, where she teaches all content areas. Her goal for each lesson is to create a cross-curricular learning experience, and as a bilingual educator, she strives to maintain a strong cultural foundation in each student’s first language while they master a second one. She also sponsors the Drama Club. Galvan holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio and a master of education from Grand Canyon University.

Recipients of the Prize – which is sponsored by Trinity’s Department of Education along with the H-E-B Grocery Co.each received $2,500 and a crystal apple. A panel of San Antonio business and community leaders selected the winners. Members of this year’s selection committee are: Christa Aldrich, Literacy Program manager at H-E-B; Jacqueline Claunch ’66, retired president of Northwest Vista College; and Jessica E. Cortez, outstanding Senior in Education, B.A. Class of 2017, MAT Class of 2018. 

During the ceremony, the 2016 National Teacher of the Year, Jahana Hayes, delivered the Kappa Delta Pi Lecture for Outstanding Educators. She was the first in her family to graduate from college and now teaches high school history in Waterbury, Conn. In addition, 17 other San Antonio area educators were recognized. 

For more information, contact Trinity’s Department of Education at 210-999-7501.

Susie P. Gonzalez, senior manager of public relations, can be reached at or @susiegonz.